Weeks 1 and 2

Growing Places Indy is an amazing nonprofit organization located in Indianapolis. The organization does urban agriculture, yoga, and health education. They support local restaurants and work to better their community. They desire to help all people grow well, eat well, live well, and be well. The summer apprenticeship program allows for hands-on farm work, community engagement, fundraising experience, and youth education. The goal is for apprentices to contemplate the change they want to see in the world and are trained in skills they can employ to take action.
The first week was a short week and was more of an introduction into the organization and the summer program. We did yoga, learned to harvest vegetables, set up a CSA, did self reflection, and had a bike tour of all of the GPI sites. In the first couple weeks I was challenged by the fact that the only male in the program was the farm manager. In the past I have felt that I can work more easily with males than females and I more easily related to men. Being surrounded by women was a little worrisome to me. Instead of having a bad attitude, I realized this could be a great opportunity to improve my ability to work with women and to gain some great friendships. I was also challenged physically by riding my bike, yoga, moving mulch, harvesting, and more. Farming is labor intensive but I am adjusting to it. I actually love the work, it is exhausting as I am just a beginner. I am being challenged by self reflecting daily and examining my life. It is amazing the difference that can be seen by simply speaking out my feelings and thoughts. It feels so good to be outside despite the rain that has paused us a couple times. I know that this is where I am supposed to be and I am learning a great deal of information on farming, yoga, nonprofits and myself. I will continue to share my experience. I do want to say though, take a risk! Do something outside of the norm. You never know how your plans may change and you may learn something new about yourself in the process.

Posted with love

Leave a Reply

